Tags

, , ,

Imani Winds

If you’ve read any of my stuff over the years, you know that I’m a fan of ideas. If a path less taken presents itself, what the heck, let’s see what’s there. Part of that is no doubt due to certain indelible twists of my DNA, part of it is having done a whole lot of taking beaten paths for a long time and yearning for something different. Blogs are written by people who have their antennae out and are combing daily life (external, internal, electronic) for piquant bits of Different. I will visit and revisit this thread from time to time here (although at some point I want to make a whole new blog out of it, devoted to nothing but).

Next week an ensemble is coming to town (Iowa City) that is a group after my own heart: the Imani Winds have a unique and captivating vision of what a woodwind quintet can be and can do. It reminded me of when I was asked to join a woodwind quintet in the early 90’s with other members of the Lucerne Symphony. I said, sure, if we don’t do any standard repertoire. I had done plenty of that and wanted to do something different for a change. Thus, the Wildwind Quintet was born, and it was a great romp until I left the orchestra and the country. It also spurred me to do some WWQ compositions that have found favor with audiences: Circus Etudes and Carib Dance (soon to be published by Veritas Musica). The Imani Winds are terrific breath of fresh air, going by the audio clips of their performances and by the bios and statements about the group. Classical music has its treasures of the past, but for the future, it very much needs new ideas and visions from creative musicians like those of the Imani Winds.Imani Winds

